August 15, 2018

The Charles H. Townes Postdoctoral Fellowship

Space Sciences Laboratory, University of California at Berkeley

Townes Fellowship in Experimental Astrophysics and Space Physics

The Charles H. Townes Fellowship is a Prize Fellowship in Experimental Astrophysics and Space Physics at the Space Sciences Laboratory at UC Berkeley. The fellowship offers recent Ph.D. recipients the opportunity to pursue independent research projects, in part by being granted Principal Investigator status at UC Berkeley for the duration of their fellowship.

It is expected, however, that the recipient will work closely with one of the established experimental research groups at UC Berkeley, taking advantage of existing facilities and resources. Applicants are strongly encouraged to contact the research group with which they are likely to be associated. While the focus of the Townes Fellowship is primarily instrumental, strong observational components to the proposed research program are encouraged. Fellowships are awarded for two years, with a possible renewal for a third year.

The annual salary is commensurate with postgraduate salaries in the field with an additional research fund of $10,000 per year. Health benefits are included for Fellows and their dependents. The applicant must have the support of a sponsoring research group. Financial support for the Fellowship will divided equally between the Space Sciences Laboratory and the sponsoring research group.

Past Townes Fellows

  • Nils Halverson (2003)
    Experimental Cosmology
    Now Assistant Professor, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Trixi Wunderer (2003)
  • Daniel Harbeck (2004)
  • Nat Butler (2005)
    Observational Astrophysics, Astronomy and SSL, U. C. Berkeley
  • Matthew Muterspaugh (2006)
  • Andrew Howard (2007)
  • Nicolas Barrière and Aaron Parsons (2008)
  • Bennett Maruca (2012)
  • Darcy Barron (2015; NSF Fellow & Townes Fellow)
  • Camden Eartly (2015)